Board of Trustees

The Bala House Board of Trustees is primarily responsible for providing effective governance for Bala House; day-to-day management of Bala House is the responsibility of our outstanding School Director. Trustees contribute to the success of the school by working collaboratively with other trustees and school administration on strategic and tactical plans to achieve the school’s mission and objectives.

The Board is made up of enthusiastic individuals with a strong commitment to the mission of Bala House Montessori. They have experience in the following areas: development (fundraising, grant writing, marketing), facilities, finance or accounting, scholarship, community relations, human resources and law.

The trustees who comprise the Board are not just parents of current Bala House students; on the contrary, Trustees have included Bala House alumna, parents of former Bala House students, grandparents of current Bala House students, and individuals without direct connections to Bala House.

The Board meets six or seven times during the academic year (September to June). Trustees commit to serving for two years and are asked to make a personally significant contribution to the Bala House Annual Campaign each year. No particular dollar amount is required; however, the Board strives for 100% participation each year as a means for providing leadership and encouragement to the rest of our community.

Serving on the Bala House Board is a very rewarding experience. Trustees have the opportunity to develop non-profit community board experience while assisting Bala House with crucial projects.


Andy Kitaeff- President
Tej Patel- Vice President
Adam Podowitz-Thomas- Secretary
Ting Zhou- Treasurer

Diane Force, School Director

Board Members
Greta Gilbode
Andy Kitaeff
Kathy Le
Tej Patel
Adam Podowitz-Thomas
Eric Rosenfeld
Steve Wennik
Ting Zhou

Board Committees
Andy Kitaeff- Chair
Adam Podowitz-Thomas
Tej Patel

Ting Zhou- Chair
Eric Rosenfeld
Tej Patel

Human Resources
Kathy A. Le – Chair
Greta Gilbode

Tuition Assistance
Adam Podowitz-Thomas
Greta Gilbode

Steve Wennik- Chair